About the ABA

The American Basketball Association (ABA) was founded in 1967. At the time, the ABA served as a major professional league alongside the National Basketball Association (NBA). The ABA was home to some of the greatest basketball players of all time, like Julius "Doctor J" Erving and Ricky Berry before the ABA merged with the NBA in 1976. 


After the merger, the ABA ceased to exist at any level until 1999 when the ABA was rebooted as a men's semi-professional basketball team. Today, the ABA serves as the largest and most diverse professional sports league in the nation!


The league is compiled of six regions: Far West, Mid-Atlantic, North Central, Northeast, South Central and Southeast. Teams will travel throughout their region in the regular season from October to March before competing in playoffs in April. Select few will also get the opportunity to play in the ABA All-Star game as well as the ABA 3-point and skills contests.

ABA Rules:

  1.   4-Pointer - A shot from behind the half court line is worth 4 points.
  2. 3D Rule - If the ball is stolen in backcourt, for that offensive possession a 2-pointer is worth 3 points, a 3-pointer is worth 4 points, and a 4-pointer is worth 5 points. 
  3. 7-Second Rule - A player/team has 7 seconds to get passed the half court. 
  4. (6) Foul Rule - A player cannot foul out. After 6 fouls, each foul is treated as a technical; The other team gets one free throw and the ball.